Return to Ice Tube Clock Kit
Sort By::
Page of 1


  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
superb customer service/excellent clock April 3, 2013
Reviewer: Alan Polinsky from Brooklyn, NY United States  
I am an old kit maker from the time of the Dyna Stereo 70 amplifier and Heathkit Ar 15 (and later 1500) receivers. I approached the clock with no fear, but speed got the best of me. I broke a wire on the display tube. When I contacted the Make folks, I was sent a replacement kit which was put together without a problem. The clock is exceptional. Thank you Eric and Keith!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Neat design. awesome display March 16, 2013
Reviewer: William G. from Punxsutawney, PA United States  
Overall an above average product. Easy to assemble. A quick fix for a loose fit of tube into case was a piece of fish tank tubing (clear). The instructions want you to adjust the tube wire length while assembling but I thought the excess wire length looked tacky.. A+ on this one. Good rating because the parts of the case fit a little off and the holes are slightly off. Still a presentable unit.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Really fun kit! March 16, 2013
Reviewer: Paul Miller from Middleton, WI United States  
I really enjoyed putting this together. The instructions are fantastic, easy to understand, with plenty of pictures. And Adafruit customer service is amazing! At some point in the build the included 9V power supply freaked out and started putting out 14V, which fried my microcontroller. I explained the problem in the support forums and a couple days later received a new power supply and controller. Huge success!


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome clock & Excellent customer service February 2, 2013
Reviewer: Matthew E from TX United States  
Main PCB in first kit was damaged. I contacted customer support and was told they would send a new PCB. A few days later I was emailed by MakerShed and was told no replacement PCB could be found, so they are sending another complete kit., which they did. Maker Shed is awesome. Instructions were detailed enough for me. Just take your time. Size of clock is approximately the size of 2 Samsung GS3's stacked on their side. This was my first purchase from Maker Shed and I plan on making more purchases in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Good October 23, 2012
Reviewer: Adam Theriault from Calgary, AB Canada  
A bit small for the money but hey. Its around the size of your fist. The pins on the VFD are not clearly labeled so be careful.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Near Perfect Instructions June 20, 2012
Reviewer: Steven Barnett from Pacifica, CA United States  
I built this kit in about 4 hours, taking it slow and teaching my 9-year old about soldering.  I let him solder a few connections prior to getting to the high voltage part.  The instructions with this kit are near perfect.  The only quibble I have is that the enclosure instructions are a little obscure.  They warn that the bottom will only go on one way, but that is not correct.  It can be installed reversed front to back, and then none of the other parts will fit properly.  The picture of the bottom installation is not so clear, so just be careful on this step.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great kit! Fun build, and a great clock! December 25, 2011
Reviewer: Joseph Coyote from Chardon, OH United States  
The instructions are very detailed.  Quality parts, excellent boards...  There's parts of the build that are pretty challenging, so I wouldn't recommend it as a first kit.  But now my alarm clock is far, far cooler!

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect first PCB project January 20, 2011
Reviewer: Dan D. from Maumelle, AR United States  
I have some limited experience with a soldering iron (repairing broken switches on my kid's toys) but this was my first real electronics kit. The online kit instructions and supplemental online reference materials are fantastic and made assembly a breeze.

The step-by-step assembly guide, with pictures and text detailing the placement of every component and pictures of every solder point, was fantastic! There was no guesswork involved in the assembly whatsoever.

I foolishly did not check the parts in the kit package before starting and was on the last soldering step when I discovered that a diode was missing. I e-mailed the manufacturer's customer support. The missing diode was immediately mailed to me -- so add terrific customer support to the list of this kit's awesome features!

I highly recommend this kit. I learned a lot in the process of building it and may build another to give as a gift before moving on to other kits and projects.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
A Work of Art September 9, 2010
Reviewer: country_too from Battle Creek, MI United States  
This kit is a perfect rainy weekend project.  Easy to follow instructions, quality components and a case that is itself a work of modern art.  My only problem is that one digit of the VFD is not as bright as the rest.  It happens to be the seconds counter (the digit closest to the wired end of the tube) so it is not that important.  Other than that it works as advertised and is fun to assemble.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
awsome January 22, 2010
Reviewer: jamil merali from corbeil, ON Canada  
This kit went together very easily and looks great. Would recommend to anyone. It is a great conversation piece.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts