Return to Strandbeest Kit
Sort By::
Page of 1


  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ignore complaints re: Japanese instructions August 3, 2013
Reviewer: cfriend from FL, USA  
As titled, all of the complaints regarding Japanese instructions are out of date as of June 2013.  The kit I received had the same English instructions linked to by another reviewer (http://otonanokagaku.net/english/manuals/pdf/vol30_beest.pdf).

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Christmas Gift January 10, 2013
Reviewer: bwelkin from Lago Vista, TX United States  
I gave this to my 15-y.o. and he whipped right through it in a couple of hours and is in the maker/hacker stage of "modifying" it.

(Have you seen the video of the hamster powered one?)

At any rate, this was a boy who never cared for kits or assembly before and now he's so proud of it he has taken it to school to show off.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wonderful Project ....for the MechHead December 13, 2012
Reviewer: Vern from West Newbury, MA United States  
I had a great time assembling the kit but would have had an easier time had I read the first review with the link for the English instructions.  Availability of these should be made more prominent.

I bought one as a gift for my nephew but now question it for any but the very patient and dexterous.

Fun and crazy project.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
strandbeest instructions December 8, 2012
Reviewer: maker_dude from Chicago, IL United States  
Those who are having trouble with the Japanese instructions should look at this site: http://otonanokagaku.net/english/manuals/pdf/vol30_beest.pdf


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beach Beast! with Japanese Instructions? December 8, 2012
Reviewer: Jeg Snakke lit Norsk from Lynnwood, WA United States  
So why, since the name is clearly Dutch for Beach Beast, are the directions/manual in Japanese? It would be easier to translate to English if it were written in Dutch! Come on Maker Shed, shed some obscurity, please. I'm done with ordering kits with indecipherable (to me) instructions.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Instructions in Japanese? November 26, 2012
Reviewer: G. Vogt from Houston, TX United States  
I guess I should have paid more attention to the advertising pictures. There is some Japanese text. That should have been a clue - almost 100 pages of text, articles, and advertisement in Japanese.
The illustrations in the instructions help but I don't read Japanese. The parts are quite sensitive to adjustment. One slight move the wrong way during construction, and pieces fall off. I am not stupid or inept. I can manage it but would like to have known about the extra challenge. As a first purchase (and possibly my last) from Maker Shed, this is not a good introduction.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fun to build November 17, 2012
Reviewer: Dan H. from Massachusetts  
This was a fun project that took about an afternoon.  There was at least one point where the instructions confused me, but I managed to get past it.

In construction, the kit strikes a nice balance between doing something new, and repeating construction steps you've already done.  By the time I'd put together my twelfth leg, I thought "I've got this leg thing down.  Time to move on."  It manages to create a sense of mastery without too much tedium.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Crikey! Theo Jansen's not quite a "was" yet. November 9, 2012
Reviewer: Kate D. from Newport, RI United States  
I just ordered this kit for my dad. Hope it's more fun than torture. For the record, the brilliant Theo Jansen IS NOT DEAD YET as implied in the previous review.

Also for the record, my "Excellent" rating is theoretical. Make made me do it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not nearly impossible to assemble -- just right November 3, 2012
Reviewer: William D Bain from Missoula, MT United States  
I did make one mistake in assembling the kit, but it was trivial to back up and correct it. It runs smoothly and blows people's minds to see it do its thing. Bought one as a gift for my best friend and he had his together pretty quickly, too.

Mr. Jansen was a brilliant man. Highly recommended.

Next up: I plan to sever the connection between the two halves and motorize each to provide a differential steering chassis for my toy robot.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Brain Surgon Wanted November 3, 2012
Reviewer: Jim Brady from San Jose, CA United States  
This kit is almost impossible to assemble as it requires extreme manual dexterity to handle multiple parts at the same time and these parts are held together by their orientation to other parts.  The orientation is quite sensitive and a small wrong movement sets you back one or more assembly steps.  The instructions are confusing as well and it takes a lot of study to figure out which part is which.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts