Return to Discover Electronics Kit Version 2
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
kit suggestions July 15, 2012
Reviewer: Richard Flores from Pleasant Hill, CA United States  
I believe I have version 1 of this and, so, don't know if my comments are still valid for the version 2.  I love the idea behind this kit and the guide book and packaging are a perfect format for my 10 year old son.  I would make a couple of suggestions, however.  I would have chosen components with thicker leads.  The thin leads on the lower power resistors are just too difficult to plug into the bread board and they bend so easily, they often lean against and short with other components.  1/2 watt resistors (though more than needed for the projects) would have been better in this regard. It makes using these discouraging for a child.  Secondly, I think the holes are easier to see on a white breadboard than the clear one provided.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great selection of parts February 27, 2010
Reviewer: Bret Pettichord from Austin, TX United States  
This has a really nice set of parts to get started. The manual, however, is hard to follow, somewhat incomplete, and occasionally wrong. I also got the Make:Electronics book, and that helped a lot.

The transistor diagram (on the envelope) incorrectly labels the leads of the transistor they provide. The Make:Electronics book gave me the guidance I needed to find and understand the datasheet for this component so that I could confirm that this diagram was backwards.

It is hard for me to understand how this error occurred and why they don't include an errata with the kit.

In summary, a great collection of parts for the beginner, including a really colorful collection of LED's. But you should plan on getting an introductory manual from somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great kit - but poorly edited November 24, 2009
Reviewer: Rob from Richmond, BC Canada  
I am an electrical engineer and I bought this kit for my nephew. It's the only beginners kit I've seen that uses actual components and a breadboard, just like I would use for my own projects except with more documentation aimed at beginners to explain what the components are and how to use them. I was very impressed till I read the manual. The images are great and it will be easy for someone to put the circuits together, but it reads like someone interviewed an electronics specialist, then wrote the manual and never got the final draft edited by someone who actually knows electronics. There are some outright errors, and several descriptions that are misleading. On the whole, though, I recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for beginner June 4, 2009
Reviewer: Carl Ehrett from Chicago, IL United States  
This was perfect.  Easy to understand, but still informative and not pitched too low, even for an adult beginner like me.  Comes with great materials, useful once you've finished the fun projects in the book.  Glad I got this gem!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
GREAT KIT March 24, 2009
Reviewer: Helen Aker from Brazil, IN United States  
I loved this kit i learnd alot from it

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
*sigh* December 13, 2008
Reviewer: Darin Beaudreau from North Oxford, MA United States  
I'm sure this is a great kit. I got mine today and wouldn't you know it, like everything else, I managed to break it in my first few hours.

I built the power supply and it was working great, until I went to take pictures of it and accidentally bumped into the breadboard. I knocked out the negative wire from the battery holder and it landed in a peg between the LED and the positive end below it. I corrected it and it no longer works. I pulled out the LED and did a continuity test with my multimeter and of course... it's dead.

*sigh*

Was this review helpful to you?

  7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Kit October 31, 2008
Reviewer: zof from CA United States  
Defiantly a great starter kit for anyone interested in getting started with electronics. Even for kids this will be a good kit as long as someone with at least a minimal knowledge of electronics is assisting.

Pros:
Fun Simple projects to get to know electronics and good price for the included materials.

Cons:
The document with the projects at times can be a bit vague; sometimes doesn't fully explain what part each component plays in the circuit.

Improvements: With a new version of the documentation this could be a 5 star kit

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent kit October 30, 2008
Reviewer: Richard East from London, London United Kingdom  
I got this kit late, but it's a perfect beginner package.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
RE: DIY Design Electronics Kit-MSL1 May 29, 2008
Reviewer: Ariel Churi from New York, NY United States  
Hi,
Some of the kits went out with a different transistor then was originally chosen. I have posted a correction to the manual at kits.sparklelabs.com. You can also send in questions or join the mailing list there.

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
DIY Design Electronics Kit-MSL1 May 27, 2008
Reviewer: Chris Davis from Brooklyn, NY United States  
Overall I enjoyed the simple packaging and the step by step instructions, detailing projects that utilize the parts starting with the simplest up to the more complicated.
My only problem so far is that the NPN transistor marked 2222A seems to have it's Pinout Identified incorrectly. I am not a professional so I may be wrong. (Maybe someone at Make can check me on this.) My Digital Multi Meter doesn't have a socket for testing Transistors but I checked the Impedence in both directions and I am pretty sure the middle contact is the Base. Though it is marked Collector in the manual. This is confusing as the pictures of how to set up your Bread Board are also following the incorrect pinout. By looking up the Markings on the Transistor it seemed to verify my discovery with the Multi-Meter. Using my new pinouts I was able to get the NOT gate project to work but then the Flasher circuit which integrates the 556 I have not gotten to work. I do enjoy the added challenge.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts