Return to MakerShield Kit
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Where to find build instructions July 8, 2013
Reviewer: Larry Diener from Apex, NC United States  
After multiple searches and fruitlessly following the links provided in the bill of materials included with the kit, I finally found the build instructions here:

http://makezine.com/projects/build-a-makershield/

Another perspective available here:
http://makezine.com/2008/07/29/build-arduino-protoshield/

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
poor mechanical design can disconnect 5V supply... June 11, 2013
Reviewer: Britton Kerin from Fairbanks, AK United States  
Nice idea but it has a terrible flaw: the legs on the bottom of the pass-through blocks are short and feeble, and just barely make contact in the sockets below.  Cost me some time before I realized that my circuits 5V supply was coming and going.  This is not a general arduino problem, other shields (like the ethernet shield) ship with pass through blocks that
have longer and stronger tails that work fine.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
No instructions, not for newbies April 21, 2013
Reviewer: Dane from St Louis, MO United States  
I think it would be great, but I don't recommend this if you are new.  I got two of them, neither work, both have the same problem and I have no idea why.  I have searched for hours trying to find some kind of trouble shooting or forums and there is nothing to help you with it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Where to look, what to get January 20, 2012
Reviewer: Barry Millman from Ottawa, ON Canada  
If you buy this, strongly consider buying (at the same time)  the mini-breadboard to stick on it.  I didn't, and since I'm in Canada the postage is prohibitive.
Next.  The ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS are found by clicking on the "How To" tab on the ad for the Makershield Kit on this site.
Third, I found that nail clippers worked better than my diagonal cutters for cutting the leads short.
Fourth, I'm junction-cautious.  I put an alligator clip across the LED leads (above the board, so the LED's float a bit) to dissipate the heat from my soldering pencil (30 watt).

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Floating Button? December 31, 2011
Reviewer: M Belanger from Long Beach, CA United States  
So the on-board button has no pull-down (or up) resistor?  Was that on purpose?  Seems like it goes against the basic idea of the shield, adding the most-needed basic input and output items with a minimum of fuss.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Get. This. Kit. December 25, 2011
Reviewer: Mac Again from Cannon AFB, NM United States  
Whether you are new to Arduino or have been using microcontollers for years, the MakerShield is an absolutely essential tool for tinkering and learning.  Don't forget to order a mini breadboard (product code MKKN1, available in five colors! - http://www.makershed.com/Mini_Breadboards_p/mkkn1.htm ) to go with it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
filter capacitors values December 13, 2011
Reviewer: Achim Franz from Jamesport, NY United States  
does anyone know what value those filter caps are ?
mine were missing and I can get them at work, but the value is not listed anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great general purpose shield November 5, 2011
Reviewer: Robert Yerex from Sandy, OR United States  
I have built a couple of these and they are great! I can adapt them to specifi uses, and because they can be stacked, I can put together specific configurations quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ok September 10, 2011
Reviewer: Nick Kromer from Fenton, MO United States  
Hard to assemble. wish they had pre assembled version. then again, i just started soldering a week ago

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Usefull breadboard August 7, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Lots of features and possibilities...
Silksreening of Arduino ports & MakerShield connections could be a bit bigger.
A bit hard to read with "old eyes"

Would be good to have the Eagle schematic file working. I have a very recent if not the most recent Eagle software & it doesn't like the sch file. Hopefully someone will fix this or I shall make my own

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts