Return to Make: Electronics Book
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Parts for the experiments/projects April 20, 2012
Reviewer: Richard Riley from Trilby, FL United States  
I bought this for my son last year, and then again for me this year.  
Being very cheap, I did not buy the parts kit for myself, but discovered the thrill of ordering parts from China and Thailand through e-bay.  I have bought 2n2222 for 2 cents each, LEDs for a penny, relays for 65 cents, etc.  This is wonderful, but since they are so cheap (shipping included) I buy them in lots of 20 or 100 and now have a table full of project boards, parts, wires and smiles.  In order to not spend the $125 for the parts kit, I have spent about $300 through eBay.  And now I can do these and scores of other project into the next decade.  
It is a great book and I recommend both Make: and eBay to everybody.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Best Intro Into Electronics Book April 4, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I have never received any formal electronics training, but this book gave me the staples to understand electronics.  I've had many various D.I.Y. electronics books, but none have explained electronics quite so well.  It takes you through electronics in a hands on way.  From licking a 9v and making LEDs light up with lemons to an occulting circuit with a relay and much more.  This book gave me the basic foundation in electronics in a fun way and now I have built a polygraph and a photo-theremin both of which can be found in make magazine.
*Easy to understand
*Fun projects starting with basic and leading up to the more advanced
*Hands on and gets you right to the project
*Every project includes a simple shopping list with web sights and stores to purchase the parts

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Book for Beginners!! January 2, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from New Haven, CT United States  
This book is really for beginners.  I've often been disappointed by ‘beginners’ books on various topics that quickly forget their target audience and become difficult to follow.  This is NOT the case with this book. The author starts with simple to follow experiments and ideas.  Even the theory sections are written using easy to understand metaphors.

Unfortunately, there are a few oversights in the book that can be confusing for the beginner.  So far, I have only encountered these in Exp.6.  There are two instances where the text disagrees with the diagrams. To a more experienced experimenter, these would be trivial mistakes in the book, but for a beginner who is trying to understand the underlying theory and concepts this can be particularly confusing.

Despite those few instances of confusion and frustration, this book is very clearly written and very mindful of its target audience.  I doubt you’ll be able to find a better hands-on book for beginners anywhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Super but be prepared to open your wallet July 4, 2010
Reviewer: Michael Fitzhugh from Oakland, CA United States  
I love this book so far. It is well-written, has great illustrations and has gotten me excited to learn about basic electronics. However because I'm new to all this, I wasn't quite prepared for the expenses one needs to incur for tools and materials. First, I spent 135 USD for the Deluxe Make Electronics Toolkit and then another 100 USD on the Make Electronics Components Pack 1. Granted, there are other sources of tools and components that might have been cheaper and any new hobby has some initial set-up costs. Also, the Make kits which I'm noting here are superb values that will save you both time and money. Just be prepared. If you're serious about digging into this book, you'll need to dig into your wallet too.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Burbank, CA April 24, 2010
Reviewer: William Springer from Tuxedo, NY United States  
I agree with everything Colin Miller said.  His fiancé is a very lucky woman!

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for anyone April 2, 2010
Reviewer: Colin Miller from Burbank, CA United States  
I don't often write product reviews, but this book really impressed me.

When I discovered Make magazine, my interest in electronics renewed and I knew that I needed to get an intro book in an area I still felt clueless in.

I was expecting a fairly decent guide to working with circuits and building electronic devices, what I wasn't expecting was an awesome and hands-on guide with both useful background science and history guides, along with straight-forward instructions on how to build things and *why* those things work the way they do. That each section gives you a shopping list (with part numbers!) and each chapter gives you the exact parts you need to build each device was an amazing addition.

The projects are fun and give you some room for variation and play with what you're doing. I also think the writing style and layout of the book will appeal to a very wide age range and either gender. I could imagine having both my fiancé read this, as well as a 12 year old cousin.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
A definitive text for beginner electronics January 26, 2010
Reviewer: Jesse Hawkins from Seattle, WA United States  
I have nothing but praise for this book.  This is simply one of the best books I have ever seen for the beginner electronics hobbyist.

I agree with the author that the best way to learn is by doing, and that sometimes the best way to learn how to do something right is to see what happens when you do it wrong.  Before the first 10 pages have been turned, the reader is instructed to destroy a battery by shorting it our deliberately.  Why?  Because it helps set the stage for the concept of resistance!  Genius.


Also, to echo what Mike Rogne said: "In the preface, it says that ... "Maker Shed offers a number of Make: Electronics companion kits, both tool kits and bundles of the various components used in the book's experiments. This is a simple, convenient, and cost-effective way of getting all the tools and materials you need to do the projects in this book."  The tool kits are available, but I have yet to find the component kits.  Please add them to your inventory, I want one!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Primer January 13, 2010
Reviewer: Jorge Rodriguez from Melissa, TX United States  
I got this book about two weeks ago and i cant seem to put it down. I highly recommend this book to the hobbyist getting started in electronics.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very nice January 5, 2010
Reviewer: Joel Smith from Kinston, NC United States  
My copy just arrived at my office this morning. Planned productivity is gone. This book is really nicely printed, and an initial scan makes me want to dive in right now. The illustrations and photos are clear and inviting and the bits I read already are perfect for someone wanting to get a foothold in making things with electricity. I'm impressed. This is the best "getting started" book of it's kind I've seen since I got started. Shopping lists, info on setting up your workspace, how and why stuff works, and projects that might actually be useful. Very nice and well thought out.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Book for Beginners December 31, 2009
Reviewer: Jerry Heiselman from Des Moines, IA United States  
My wife bought me this book for Christmas.  I had a couple of Forrest Mims books already, but they were a bit over my head.  This book is great.  It starts assuming that you know nothing.  Even if you do know a little, it provides plenty of detailed information to help round out your knowledge.

The experiment-first approach is a great way to learn.  I vastly prefer it to theory-first.

If you're feeling a little lost with getting started, give this book a try.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts