Return to Trippy RGB Waves Kit
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Trippy RGB Waves is for total beginners January 13, 2014
Reviewer: Mitch Altman from San Francisco, CA United States  
I've been using Trippy RGB Waves kits to teach total beginners how to solder for a several years now.  I've even taught kids as young as 4 years old to solder using this kit:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/maltman23/9451473564/in/set-72157634950462647
Fun for all.  :)

Mitch.


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice idea, not for beginners January 15, 2012
Reviewer: Thomas Harrington from Colorado Springs, CO United States  
This kit is a cool idea but the design makes it inappropriate for people just getting started with soldering. The battery pack solders onto the bottom of the board. If you don't get the leads trimmed very, very closely it's difficult to get it on due to leads sticking through. And, if it doesn't work right the first time, a bunch of the solder joints are completely hidden and impossible to check.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Simple but you can learn a lot September 13, 2011
Reviewer: bill from mountain view, CA United States  
The kit's pretty easy to build, and the directions tell you what order to add each part in so earlier parts don't get in your way when you're soldering, so it's a good learning project.  

And it's shiny and blinky and the blinking's distance-sensitive!  I drilled an extra hole in mine so I could put it on a string as a necklace.   When the battery's mostly used up, the LED only lights up in red, not the other colors, which tells you things about the different voltage behaviour of LED colors.

But you can do more than that - it has a 6-pin ICSP interface that you can program with an AVR programmer or wire up to your Arduino, and includes the source code so you can reprogram the blinking patterns if you want, change the distance sensitivity or the speed or whatever.   There's a lot more depth to it than a simple 555-timer blinker.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very simple yet exciting December 2, 2010
Reviewer: Calvert from Scottsdale, AZ United States  
Forget trippy, imagine a group of 10 middle school students standing in a darkened room squeezing together to wave their hands over a table of little lights, laughing and exclaiming "Dude, dude, that one's mine, that one's mine" while the lights change colors.

My middle school students had never done any kind of electronics project before and they were able, with only basic instruction, to finish this project. It is very satisfying and a great teaching tool.

Their only complaint was that it didn't change colors every time they swiped their hand over, it only reset the sequence to red and continued from there. This may be because of a mistake they made though.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
My First Soldering Experience February 26, 2010
Reviewer: Jeff from Mountain View, CA United States  
I put this kit together at HackerDojo in under Mitch's guidance.  It was easy and fun to learn soldering with this simple kit.  The Trippy RGB Waves kit was a great first project and it has inspired me to build some more kits with my newly acquired soldering skills!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Trippy LED kit October 17, 2009
Reviewer: Tweedle from Owosso, MI United States  
Put this kit together and I guess it works correctly. I thought it was more like the circuit that EMS labs uses in their interactive LED tables. Boy, was I ever wrong. Thought I could put a bunch together and make something like it. Much too expensive to do any such thing. As I understand it, this circuit is digital whereas the EMS one is analog. Huge difference. Oh well, live and learn.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
it was cool July 3, 2009
Reviewer: cameron clapp from Las Cruces, NM United States  
the instructions where helpful and really easy to build

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great first timer kit! June 10, 2009
Reviewer: Alec Flett from Berkeley, CA United States  
I also had the pleasure of having Mitch himself show me how to put this together. It was my first soldering experience EVER and I had the thing working in about an hour. Im totally inspired to try more complicated kits and projects now!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Easy and satisfying starter kit April 15, 2009
Reviewer: Paul Boardman from South San Francisco, CA United States  
I had the pleasure of putting this kit together under the supervision of Mitch Altman at Noisebridge (during the regular Monday "learn to solder" workshop).  It was really easy to put together & is great for me as I was wondering how to program IR detectors.  Also, the board has program headers included so you can hack to your hearts content!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
easy to solder kit March 24, 2009
Reviewer: Helen Aker from Brazil, IN United States  
I got the kit today and it was so easy to put to gether!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive deals and discounts